New & Notable - Adult

Invisible girl : a novel

Jewell, Lisa, author
2020

Owen Pick's life is falling apart. In his thirties, a virgin, and living in his aunt's spare bedroom, he has just been suspended from his job as a geography teacher after accusations of sexual misconduct, which he strongly denies. Across the street from Owen lives the Fours family, headed by Cate, a physiotherapist, and Roan, a child psychologist. But the Fours have a bad feeling about Owen, their teenaged daughter swears he followed her home from the train station one night. Meanwhile, young Saffyre Maddox a former patient of Roan Fours searches for other ways to maintain her connection with him. Then, on Valentine's night, Saffyre Maddox disappears--and the last person to see her alive is Owen Pick.

Show More

Sort by:

Blaze Island : a novel

Blaze Island : a novel

Bush, Catherine, 1961- author
2020

The time is now or an alternate near now, the world close to our own. A mammoth Category Five hurricane sweeps up the eastern seaboard of North America, leaving devastation in its wake, its outer wings brushing over tiny Blaze Island in the North Atlantic. Just as the storm disrupts the present, it stirs up the past: Miranda's memories of growing up in an isolated, wind-swept cove and the events of long ago that her father will not allow her to speak of. In the aftermath of the storm, she finds herself in a world altered so quickly and so radically that she hardly knows what has happened.

Show More



Burning girls and other stories

Burning girls and other stories

Schanoes, Veronica L., author.
2021

"In Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own. Emma Goldman--yes, that Emma Goldman--takes tea with the Baba Yaga and truths unfold inside of exquisitely crafted lies. In "Among the Thorns," a young woman in seventeenth century Germany is intent on avenging the brutal murder of her peddler father, but discovers that vengeance may consume all that it touches. In the showstopping, awards finalist title story, "Burning Girls," Schanoes invests the immigrant narrative with a fearsome fairytale quality that tells a story about America we may not want--but need--to hear. Dreamy, dangerous, and precise, with the weight of the very oldest tales we tell, Burning Girls and Other Stories introduces a writer pushing the boundaries of both fantasy and contemporary fiction"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Cleopatra : the queen who challenged Rome and conquered eternity

Cleopatra : the queen who challenged Rome and conquered eternity

Angela, Alberto, 1962- author
2021

Our world today would not be the same without Cleopatra. In this mesmerizing history, Alberto Angela offers a fresh and dynamic portrait of this extraordinary ruler, revealing a strikingly modern woman born in an ancient era and skilled in the art of diplomacy and war, who would conquer the heart of a general - Marc Antony - and Rome itself.

Show More


Float plan

Float plan

Doller, Trish, author.
2021

Since the loss of her fiance, Anna has been shipwrecked by grief--until a reminder goes off about a trip they were supposed to take together. Impulsively, Anna goes to sea in their sailboat, intending to complete the voyage alone. But after a treacherous night's sail, she realizes she can't do it by herself and hires Keane, a professional sailor, to help. Much like Anna, Keane is struggling with a very different future than the one he had planned.

Show More



How to create better ideas : connecting the left and right brain in the design process

How to create better ideas : connecting the left and right brain in the design process

Roozekrans, Joost.
2021

With examples ranging from Precious Plastic to the Sheltersuit, How to Create Better Ideas provides insights into the design process - and into how to produce better ideas in general. The concepts are divided into two sections: the right brain and the left brain. The first section analyses the general design process. The second introduces six self-developed methods that teach you to create more and better visual ideas relevant to all design disciplines. This book is for anyone who would like to understand design more deeply and in more detail. It is for anyone who wants to know, What is design? What is creativity? What mentality and conditions are needed to guarantee a productive design process? It is for design educators and students, and for those working with designers as clients or commissioners. And it is most certainly a guide for design professionals who want to advance their ability to create visual ideas.

Show More


Indigenomics : taking a seat at the economic table

Indigenomics : taking a seat at the economic table

Hilton, Carol Anne, 1975-, author
2021

Carol Anne Hilton lays out the tenets of the emerging Indigenous economy, built around relationships, multigenerational stewardship of resources, and care for all. "Indigenomics" calls for a new model of development, one that advances Indigenous self-determination, collective well-being, and reconciliation. This is vital reading for business leaders and entrepreneurs, Indigenous organizations and nations, governments and policymakers, and economists.

Show More


Inventor confidential : the honest guide to profitable inventing

Inventor confidential : the honest guide to profitable inventing

Tuttle, Warren.
2021

"The road to licensing a profitable, innovative product or technology is riddled with curves, holes, and rocky cliffs. Every year, hundreds of thousands of eager inventors around the globe spend millions of dollars seeking assistance from inventor service companies and individuals claiming to be experts in the innovation and licensing fields, though their actual success rates are poor in relation to the dollar amounts they charge. The reality is, according to Inventors' Digest?, while 78% of new inventors believe they will make over a million dollars with their inventions, less than 1% actually do. Marketers prey on this scenario for their own financial gain. Inventor Confidential tips the odds back in the investor's favor, helping them: Gain a much broader picture of the many current challenges that inventors face these days. Understand the red flags to watch out for when individuals or companies charge up front for their coaching or help-to-market services. See how inventors can improve their odds of licensing success by following a thorough product development protocol, creating working prototypes, and filing U.S. patents. Get the insider perspective on how companies determine the quality of a product submission and if they want to work with the inventor. Learn the 30 steps to market if you want to go it alone. For anyone who has a great idea or invention and wants to monetize it but are not sure who to trust, Inventor Confidential will show them where to best spend their hard-earned money to maximize their odds for success." --Amazon.com.

Show More


Moment of truth : how to think about Alberta's future

Moment of truth : how to think about Alberta's future

2020

Alberta is at a crossroads. Its situation in Canadian confederation is unfair. It is unequal. So...what comes next? What westerners ultimately need to decide if the best response to that unfairness and inequality is to leave Canada and the great northwest to carve out a smaller but separate country. Or do we simply need to clearly define what would constitute a genuine Fair Deal, not just for Alberta, but for all Canadians who share our values and perspectives on what this country should be? Moment of Truth is a series of provocative, thoughtful, and timely essays, curated by three of Canada's most respected and original political thinkers, debating whether we should pursue the little western path of yet another division of the northwest, this time via secession, or march along the big western path aimed at nothing less than fairness for ourselves - and everyone else - through a re-confederation.

Show More


Mystical crystals : magical stones and gems for health, wealth, and happiness

Mystical crystals : magical stones and gems for health, wealth, and happiness

Greenleaf, Cerridwen.
2020

Improve your life with the help of crystals. Whether you're a seasoned pro or new to using gemstones or crystals, this beautifully illustrated guide by Cerridwen Greenleaf has got you covered.

Show More


Offline matters : the less-digital guide to creative work

Offline matters : the less-digital guide to creative work

Henderson, Jess.
2020

"When did creative work become so boring? How did 'digital-first' come to dominate everything? ...and why is nobody talking about it? Offline Matters is a handbook for anybody experiencing digital overload in their lives and creative work. Part insider exposé, part worker-manual, this book is for any creative seeking help on: Navigating the possibility of offline alternatives Countering overwork culture, exploitation, and dulled-down ideas Recovering what you loved about your creative calling ... away from the confines of our screens. We are dreaming of offline. Not as a romanticised past, a punishment, a quick detox, or a WiFi-free café. Offline is not a lifestyle. It's a space of opportunity. By the end of Offline Matters, you'll have a new perspective on the dry digitality that defines creative work today - and a set of strategies for going beyond it."--Back cover.

Show More


Skincare Decoded : the practical guide to beautiful skin

Skincare Decoded : the practical guide to beautiful skin

Fu, Victoria.
2021

In this book two professional chemists and beauty industry insiders tell you all you need to know about skin care.

Show More


The twentysomething handbook : everything you actually need to know about real life

The twentysomething handbook : everything you actually need to know about real life

Bradbury-Haehl, Nora.
2021

"The ultimate, one-stop-shop resource for navigating and winning at life's most bewildering period"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


The waste-free world : how the circular economy will take less, make more, and save the planet

The waste-free world : how the circular economy will take less, make more, and save the planet

Gonen, Ron, author
2021

As Recycling and Sustainability czar under Mayor Bloomberg, Ron Gonen managed NYC's waste, recycling, and pioneering composting initiative. Now he champions innovation in recycling technology to defeat one of the greatest scams in history: the take-make-waste economy that inflated costs and sabotaged our environment almost to the point of no return. Showcasing brilliant innovations all over the world that he encounters as founder of an investment firm focused on circular solutions, Gonen reveals opportunity with an empowering call to action.

Show More


The witch's heart

The witch's heart

Gornichec, Genevieve, author
2021

Angrboda's story begins where most witches' tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves her injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love. Their union produces three unusual children, each with a secret destiny. She must choose whether she'll accept the fate that she's foreseen for her beloved family - or rise to remake their future.

Show More


chat loading...